June 13 You still and quiet my soul

family-1804701_640Father, how often do I come before You in prayer feeling so overwhelmed by life? There are some times when I feel like things are going well. I feel in the center of Your will and I have no concerns. I feel blessed in the sense of peace all around me.

There are times when I have small issues that I know You can easily show me solutions to. They may take time and action, but are easily handled with Your help. And then there are times when I am so anxious over circumstances that I lay my heart open for You to see and heal. I prepare for battle with Your armor and You send me out with marching orders against the enemy.

But there are still times, when I see the overwhelming personal issues: illness, death; and larger ones that ravage the world, my country, Your people: suffering, hunger, corruption, oppression, terrorism, to name a few. And I am overcome by how small I am and how helpless I feel. These are the times I come to You and lay my head on Your shoulder. I wrap my arms around You, bury my face in Your robes and nuzzle in, breathing in Your power, and Your peace.

I am calmed, because I know that You are in control. I understand that this is not a battle You have called me to, but that You have it completely in hand. And I need not worry about it.

These verses describe what I feel:

“My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I have stilled and quieted my soul like weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me.”

I know there are things You deal with that are too big for me to even be a part of. And like a child who no longer breastfeeds, when that child goes to its mother, there is no physical hunger to be satisfied –only a peace and calm derived from the safety and security the mother offers. That is what I feel in You. I know that the world is in Your capable hands, and I can rest contented. Thank You for this lovely picture.   And for being the One I can trust and rest in. Amen

Psalm 131:1-3

 

