Aug 4 Faith Train

“You are my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? You are the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid?”

Yet sometimes I have felt in the dark. I have been afraid of what may happen to me or to my loved ones. Sometimes I feel so ill prepared to handle what comes up that it leaves me feeling overwhelmed – with emotion, with circumstances, with decisions, with worry. I have been anxious over so many things that never happened. And a theme here is that I am relying on ‘feelings’.

railway-512227_640The truth is that my ‘faith’ is based on ‘facts’. The ‘facts’ fuel my ‘faith’ which is the engine that drives the train. They pull my ‘feelings’ along behind like a caboose. The problem is that I sometimes forget and allow myself to be driven by the caboose.

The fact is “in the day of trouble, He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.” Father, You have promised to keep me safe. And my faith in You is steadfast. But sometimes when I don’t ‘feel’ You near me, I forget that You are there. The fact is You have promised never to leave me! So just because I cannot feel You, doesn’t mean You are not there. Again, I let myself be driven by my feelings.

When I remember the facts of who You are: Creator God, Yahweh, the Great I Am, Jehovah Jirah – my provider, El Shaddai; I can say in the strength of my faith: “Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then I will be confident.” 

When I state these ‘facts’, and speak aloud the truth of my faith, my feelings fall into line. And I am strengthened and encouraged. “You are my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? You are the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid?”

A-MEN !

Psalm 27:1-6

One thought on “Aug 4 Faith Train

  1. It’s crazy how quickly we respond to any situation in fear. No wonder God tells us in His Word a gazillion times (at least it feels that way) ‘Do not fear’. Post-conference especially this prayer was needful. Thank you!

    Like

Comments are closed.