Aug 13 Plans

puzzle-394144_640

Father, all through the rebuilding of the wall, You provided for Nehemiah’s safety. Some might guess he was lucky, or say that he had a sixth sense about the plots against him. But he was a praying man who looked to You for guidance and protection. He fasted and prayed to accomplish the work You gave him to do. With five attempts to lure Nehemiah away from his work to harm him, he stood his ground and did not go. When one of his own even plotted to discredit him, he refused to be party to the sin.

Father, protect me as well. Direct me away from harm. Stop me from sinning against You, even if it would seem to make me safe. Sharpen my spiritual discernment so I can see through any plots to harm, or intimidate, or discredit me. Strengthen my faith so I count on You and trust only in You for my deliverance.

You acted in Nehemiah’s time as Psalm 33 reminds us, You “frustrated the plans of the nations and thwart their schemes. But Your plans stand firm forever…” By Your very word, Lord, You spoke the world into existence. You created all that is seen, and all that is yet to be discovered in the universe. As far as can be reached with eyes and technology – all this is within Your hand’s grasp.

I acknowledge and honor Your Lordship. And thank You for Your faithfulness, Your righteousness, Your justice, and Your unfailing love. To show it, help me sing for joy to You, praise You and make music, worshipping from my heart.

You are my Lord. And my hope is in You! Amen

Nehemiah 6:1-16; Psalm 33:1-11

