Aug 16 Your eyes, Your ears, Your heart

shield-441403_640Father, thank You that I have a permanent righteousness that comes from You; so I can know that when You talk about “the righteous” in scripture, I am included.   And Your promises to them are true for me.

First of all, “Your eyes are on me,” is a powerful deterrent.  Realizing that You are watching helps me remember that I am accountable for my actions.

You instruct me to “keep my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking lies.”  And since I know You are watching, that is enough to stop me in my tracks, and make me think before I speak or act.  If I would think to impress someone or sway them with an exaggeration or lie, Your Holy Spirit reminds me that You know when I lie.  And I would have to live with not only the consequences, but also conviction and guilt if I proceed.

It’s so easy to step into sin, to follow a broad path that others around me are taking without a thought.  But You tell me to “turn from evil and do good, seek peace and pursue it.”  You remind me to be intentional about doing good.  And challenge me to think about what I’m doing, regardless of what others might be doing.

When doing good, it’s not likely that I will do what is evil.  So protection from evil is built in to doing good and seeking peace.

But also, “Your eyes are on me” is an awesome reassurance!  I know that You see everything!  Nothing that happens to me is beyond Your notice.   And You will rescue and defend me when I need help.

Your ears are attentive to my cry.”   You are as close as a whisper.  And when I call, “You hear me; You deliver me from all my troubles.”  Does this mean I will never have difficulties?  No.  But I will always know that You are with me.  That You will deliver me and give me Your peace.

“You are close to the brokenhearted.”  Oh Father, I have been there.  Circumstances in my life that have been the result of illnesses, accidents, injustice, evil – even my own ignorance or pride – break my heart and bring me to my knees.  But in it all, I know You are here and that You care for me.  You will help me through, no matter what.  You will lend me Your strength.

Thank You Father, that I have these assurances of Your attention, of Your presence, of Your power to save me.  That is all I need.  Amen

Psalm 34:11-22

One thought on “Aug 16 Your eyes, Your ears, Your heart

  1. ” But in it all, I know You are here and that You care for me. You will help me through, no matter what. You will lend me Your strength.” AMEN!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment