Mar 24 Tracing God’s Faithfulness

Dear Lord, I don’t often take time to look back over my life to see where I’ve been and all I’ve come through.  I forget that remembering Your faithfulness to me in the past, builds my faith in the present, and for the future.

Printable-Timeline-Template-for-StudentBut this is what Moses is doing for these young Israelites who are about to come into their Promised Land.

It was Your miracle that delivered them and their parents from slavery in Egypt.  You who kept them alive through the desert and brought them to this place of promise.  And You who kept Your promise to their forefathers: Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

So this scripture impresses upon me now, that I should take time to see where I have come from, where I am going, and how Your hand has blessed me all along the way.  So many times You have protected me and helped me through hardship.  Recalling those times helps strengthen my faith in You. 

Knowing You came through in the past allows me to trust You more nowand be strong in the face of trouble.  I once made a time line of how You had impacted my life at crucial points.  With my aging memory, it helps to see those times written down that confirm Your faithfulness to me.

Life can sometimes seem like a desert, a dry time of focusing more on what I don’t have than what I do.  I’ve truly been given what I’ve needed, not lacking anything.  And I can say that “You have watched over my journey through this vast desert. You have truly blessed me, and been with me.”

Father be with me now, in this time of crisis.  Be with the people who are afraid.  Be with those who have suffered tragic loss.  Speak to our country’s leaders.  Guide us and guard us.  Deliver us out of danger and into Your promised land safely and quickly.  And we will give You praise.  Amen

Deuteronomy 2:1-29; especially 2:7

Leave a comment