Apr 29 Teach me from ALL Your Word

“And beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, Jesus explained to them what was said in all the Scriptures concerning Himself.”

“Everything must be fulfilled about Me that is written in the Law of Moses, the Prophets and the Psalms.  Then Jesus opened their minds so they could understand the Scriptures.”

child-945422_1920Father, explain to me and open my mind so I can understand the Scriptures!

You are the God of both Testaments!  Of the whole Bible!

What I was brought up calling the Old Testament, Jews refer to these as The Tanakh.

Made up of three parts: The Torah, the Neviim and the Ketuvim. The Torah is the first five books, Genesis through Deuteronomy.   The Neviim are the Prophets, so the twelve books of the minor prophets and nine written by major Prophets.  The Ketuvim are the books of wisdom, scrolls and history.

So much of the meaning in the Old Testament is lost to me unless I learn about the Hebrew customs and language.   When I only see what You said and did in the New Testament, I miss the depth of meaning without the context of what came before.

You are part of the Trinity in Genesis 1.  When You said “Let Us make man in our image…” it was plural; in Hebrew “Elohim.”

When the prophet Isaiah spoke it was You he saw who would be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Prince of Peace!  He described You in his words when he said a man of sorrows, familiar with pain, despised and rejected.”

Zechariah saw that You would be betrayed for thirty pieces of silver, that You would die a violent death for all mankind.

There are 351 prophecies in this Scripture that You fulfill.   And more yet to be fulfilled!

How much more marvelous to know You as the One who speaks of the futureAND has the power to bring it to pass!

Understanding who You are and have been since the beginning helps me know and love You more.  And the more I understand the prophecies, the better prepared I can be to face the future, trusting in You as my Savior.  

Thank You for being true to Your Word.  Thank You that as I read and study, You reveal more and more of Yourself to me: my God in whom I trust!  Amen

Luke 24:13-45

Leave a comment