May 23 Live in humility

011-jesus-washes-feetDear Jesus, what a beautiful example You gave of servant leadership when You took it upon Yourself to do the menial job of washing Your disciples’ dirty feet.

These were not regularly pedicured, sweet smelling feet, but the dustystinkycalloused feet of men who traveled on foot wherever they went.   The paths they walked on were not paved or grassy.  They were dirty and dusty, and were shared with not only people, but animals who no doubt used the paths for more than walking.  I can imagine, try as one might, stepping in such deposits was inevitable.

But You took on the role of a servant to teach that I too, need to be willing to act humbly.

I have attended marriage retreats and Christian women’s retreats where we did this activity.  It was a humbling experience to have someone else wash my feet.  It felt more natural to me to wash someone else’s.  But it goes beyond just the action of the task, because it is also symbolic.

It is easier to wash someone’s feet occasionally than to put their needs before my own on a daily basis.  It is easier to wash just their feet than deal with the whole person; especially when they aren’t being pleasant, or I’m feeling unappreciated, or I really just want my own way.

Thank You for Your example.  Help me live up to it with the people You put in my life.

John 13:1-17

Leave a comment